A Special Charity Screening Event On November 21, 2020

Join Us From The Comfort of Your Living Room

A PLACE AMONG THE DEAD is a genre-bending art film which explores the repercussions of growing up under the sway of narcissism and evil.  Juliet Landau’s (Buffy, Angel, Ed Wood, Bosch) feature directorial debut, will be hitting Laemmle Theatres & available worldwide soon!

The Modern Films’ distributed picture stars Juliet with Gary Oldman, Ron Perlman, Robert Patrick, Lance Henriksen, Joss Whedon & Anne Rice, appearing for the first time ever in a movie!

In this revealing and terrifying meld of fact, fiction and the fantastical, actress / filmmaker “Jules,” driven by the demons of her past, embarks on a journey at the potential cost of everything she knows and loves.

Schedule will be:

  • 11am PST / 2pm EST / 7pm GMT: Screening of A PLACE AMONG THE DEAD

  • 12:30pm PST / 3:30pm EST / 8:30pm GMT: Live Q&A of the Film.
    Including Juliet Landau (Director, Writer, Producer), Deverill Weekes (Producer, Writer, DP), Harry Groener (Father) & Dawn Didawick (Mother)

  • 1:30pm PST / 4:30pm EST / 9:30pm GMT: Cast & crew interactive Zoom with audience
    The Zoom invite will be sent to you after the movie has finished screening. If you don’t receive the link, check your spam and then contact jl@julietlandau.com

Proceeds of this screening go towards the Sophie Lancaster Foundation and Fandom Charities Inc. for WhedonCon

It’s a strange time to put on a convention. Conventions, for us, are adventures in community-building, exercises in relationship-forging, and opportunities for memory-making. In 2020, conventions are also experiments — experiments in if and how these incredible lightning-in-a-bottle moments can continue to engender joy and fulfillment absent shared spaces.

HalloWhedonCon Online was a labor of love. We love our attendees, our charities, our panelists, our talent, our vendors, our volunteers, and our fandoms. We felt called to bring our community together during this time.

We cannot say thank you enough to those who joined us on this ride — bumpy though it sometimes was–and supported us throughout this experiment. We are so fortunate to have friends like you willing to reach into your hearts and your wallets to provide support for the Los Angeles LGBT Center and the Al Wooten Jr. Youth Center.during these turbulent times. You are the reason conventions exist.

– The Con Committee & WhedonCon Team

Fighting For A Cause

Raising money for the Los Angeles LGBT Center and
The Wooten Youth Center’s Ron Glass Memorial Scholarship Fund

“If Nothing We Do Matters, Then All That Matters Is What We Do” 

People shouldn’t suffer as they do. Because, if there’s no bigger meaning, then the smallest act of kindness is the

greatest thing in the world.” – Angel the Series: Epiphany

WhedonCon is a Whedonverse convention, designed by fans for fans, with the aim of harnessing the power of fandom

to raise money for charities while creating a fun, interactive environment for attendees and guests.

Proceeds of Events Go To


Since 1969 the Los Angeles LGBT Center has cared for, championed, and celebrated LGBT individuals and families in Los Angeles and beyond. They are an unstoppable force in the fight against bigotry and the struggle to build a better world, a world in which LGBT people can be healthy, equal, and complete members of society.
Wooten Youth Center transparent logo
The Ron Glass Memorial Scholarship comes from the Al Wooten Jr. Youth Center —a neighborhood approach to the revitalization and empowerment of a community in crisis. They foster a safe and nurturing environment committed to good citizenship and academic excellence by providing college and career readiness for grades 3-12. They’re making a difference for life!

Find Us on social media & share your memories using #WhedonCon!